SPORTS: NEYMAR: I WILL NOT KILL MYSELF TO WIN BALLON D’OR

image


The Brazil striker says he is not out for
personal glory and is just looking to enjoy
himself playing football, adding Lionel
Messi is the only possible candidate for
the gong
Barcelona star Neymar has downplayed
the importance of the Ballon d’Or and is
adamant it would not be a problem for
him if he never wins it.

The Brazil international had to settle for
fifth place in the 2016 award, with
Cristiano Ronaldo beating Lionel Messi
and Antoine Griezmann to scoop the gong.
Neymar, however, has stressed he will not
lose any sleep over whether he will ever lift
the trophy.

“I am very happy in Barcelona, at this
team and with the life I have,” the 24-year-
old told the official La Liga website.
“Of course, it is my goal to win the Ballon
d’Or, but I am not going to kill myself for
it.

“I want to be happy and I am happy here
at Barcelona. It is not a problem if I do
not win the Ballon d’Or.
“I do not play football to win the Ballon
d’Or. I play football to be happy, because I
love it and want to play football.
“Winning the Ballon d’Or is the
consequence of your work. Unfortunately,
only one person can win it and Leo Messi
is the best.”

Posted in Sports

Leave a Reply

