SPORTS: Gerrard~announces~his~retirement.!

Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard has
announced his retirement from football
after leaving LA Galaxy this month.
Gerrard left the Reds in the summer of
2015 after his contract expired at Anfield,
moving to the Galaxy for a season.
However, after they were knocked out of
the MLS Cup, Gerrard confirmed he would
be leaving America with suggestions he
could return to Liverpool as a coach or
that Inter Milan were interested in
extending his playing career.

image

The 36-year-old was in talks with League
One side MK Dons over becoming their
new manager but pulled out of
discussions after revealing the timing
wasn’t quite right.
Gerrard played 710 times for his boyhood
club Liverpool, captaining them from
2003 to 2015, as well as representing
England 114 times.
In a statement he said: “Following recent
media speculation surrounding my future I
can confirm my retirement from playing
professional football.
“I have had an incredible career and am
thankful for each and every moment of
my time at Liverpool, England and LA
Galaxy.
“As a teenager I fulfilled my childhood
dream by pulling on the famous red shirt
of Liverpool, and when I made my debut
against Blackburn Rovers in November
1998 I could never have imagined what
would then follow over the next 18 years.
Gerrard skippered Liverpool to one of the
greatest comebacks in European history
when they won the Champions League in
2005 after trailing 3-0 to AC Milan at half
time, only to win on it on penalties.
The former England captain also won two
FA Cups, three League Cups, the Uefa Cup
and the Uefa Super Cup. He won a
number of personal honours too, being
named PFA Young Player of the Year in
2001, Player of the Year in 2006 and
coming third in the 2005 Ballon d’Or
among the highlights.
Gerrard announced he would leave LA
Galaxy in December (Getty)
“I feel lucky to have experienced so many
wonderful highlights over the course of
my career,” his statement continued. “I
am proud to have played over 700 games
for Liverpool, many of which as captain,
and to have played my part in helping the
club to bring major honours back to
Anfield, none more so than that famous
night in Istanbul.
“At an international level, I feel privileged
to have won 114 England caps and to
have had the honour of captaining my
country. I will always look back with great
pride at every time I pulled on the
England shirt.
“I feel very fortunate to have had the
career I’ve had but none of it would have
been possible without the support of so
many people.

image

“Firstly, I would like to thank everyone at
Liverpool Football Club. I am proud to
have played for and captained Liverpool
for so many years and to have achieved
what we achieved during my time at the
club.
“I was lucky to play alongside some great
players and under some fantastic
managers during my time at Anfield and
would like to thank each and every one of
them, as well as all of the backroom staff
at the club throughout my time there for
the fantastic support they showed me.
“I would like to say a special thank you to
Steve Heighway, Dave Shannon and Hugh
McAuley for believing in me when I was
making my way at Liverpool and for
giving me the platform to go on and fulfil
my dreams.
Gerrard captained Liverpool to Champions
League success in 2005 (Getty)
“Thank you to the amazing fans of
Liverpool, England and LA Galaxy for the
incredible backing you have given me
throughout my career. Your loyalty and
support has meant the world.
“I would like to thank Struan Marshall, my
agent throughout my career, and the team
at Wasserman for all of their support over
the past 18 years.
“Away from football, I feel lucky to have
had such a close group of friends that I
have always been able to count and rely
on throughout the course of my career.
Thank you to all of you.
“Finally, the most important thank you; to
my family. I cannot thank my mum, dad
and brother Paul enough for their
unconditional support over the years, it
has meant everything to me. To my wife
Alex and children Lily, Lexie and Lourdes,
thank you for the constant love and
support you’ve shown me. You’ve been
there throughout both the good times and
the bad and without you nothing would
have been possible. Thank you for
everything.

Posted in Sports

Leave a Reply

